Mtwara (2012-2015)

The Community Water Supply and Sanitation Project (CWSSP) in Mtwara, Tanzania (3rd phase, 2012-2015)

The Community Water Supply and Sanitation Project (CWSSP) has been conducted in Mtwara District in Southern Tanzania since 2005. The project is implemented by local partner Tanzania Association of Environmental Engineers (TAEEs) and it works in close collaboration with the Mtwara District Council and local communities. The aim of the CWSSP is to improve basic health in order to enhance livelihood security of the poorest communities in the project area. The 3rd phase of the CWSSP was planned to take place from January 2012 to December 2014. However, the project was extended with one year and will be completed by the end of 2015 due to delays faced by the Mtwara District in implementation of Mpapura-Lyowa piped water supply scheme.

Based on the evaluation made from previous phases, in the 3rd phase more emphasis has been put on facilitation and training of water and sanitation committees on user-managed water supply systems, sanitation and hygiene promotion and other water related issues. Three villages; Lyowa, Mihembe and Ding'wida, were selected after a baseline study and careful consideration and dialogue with Mtwara District Council.

By the end of 2014 the project has completed the construction of demo latrines for Lyowa primary school and 50m3 rainwater harvesting tank in Ding'wida. In addition a 50m3 elevated water storage tank for Lyowa is almost completed, missing only few finishing touches.  Numerous trainings on hygiene and sanitation as well as latrine constuction and financial management of water supply systems have been carried out in the villages for both water and sanitation committee members and villagers.  Unfortunately the plans to construct two medium-depth hand pump wells for Mihembe were cancelled after carrying out a hydrological survey, which indicated inadequate availability of groudwater in the area. 

During 2015 the remaining activities will concentrate on training and facilitation of user committees and villagers in five villages under the Mpapura-Lyowa piped water supply scheme, which will start operating in the beginning of 2015. It was seen important to support Mtwara District in the capacity building component to increase the sustainability of the scheme.

Project coordinator:
Venla Pesonen

Assistant coordinator:
Elina Virolainen

Advisory board:
Heikki Wihuri, Suvi Hjorth, Tauno Skyttä, Erkki Tiainen, Paul Gwagilo, Jani Vuorinen

Ministry for Foreign Affairs, MVTT, The Student Union of the University of Turku

Project news